Aligning Paths for Service in Haiti

15 Sep

Blog post by Amanda F., Team Haiti 2012

If someone asked me a year ago where I would be today, I would have never dreamed that this would be the answer. I am so thankful for the series of events that have lead me to the most exciting and rewarding experience of my life. The road to this place in life has been rocky and broken in places but, in the end, God has always shown himself.

I was raised in a Christian family and grew up going to church every Sunday. It was the norm for our family and I went because it’s just what we did. Throughout life I had the basic foundations of Christianity instilled in me, but I never had a real relationship with God. Around June 2011, six months after graduating college, I kept hitting roadblock after roadblock as I was trying to get jobs and move onto the next step of my life. I finally realized I couldn’t do life alone.  My brother and sister-in-law, whom I was living with at the time, are very strong Christians and sat me down one day to stress how badly God wanted me. For once, I listened. I began going to The Rock shortly after and have been growing more and more in my faith ever since.

Shortly after I started attending The Rock, I decided to start the Foundations courses to learn more about the faith I had claimed for so long. I had been praying and praying for God to make this giant church seem smaller and to help me gain strong Christian friends. It was the final day of the four-week course and, although I learned a lot, I hadn’t yet found the answer to that prayer. At the end of class a girl my age came up to me and introduced herself. She said that she held a small group at her house and, after hearing part of my testimony, she felt God urge her to invite me. She felt we had a lot in common. I was elated! After joining the group and becoming closer to this girl, she revealed to me that talking to a complete stranger was completely out of her comfort zone and the only reason she had the guts to talk to me was because she felt lead by God.

At this point, I came to the realization that God does answer prayers. The closer I drew to Him, the closer her drew to me and fulfilled my deepest desire for fellowship and a close Christian group. Now, small group is a home away from home and we are like a family. In Matthew chapter 21 Jesus says that those who have faith and do not doubt will have their prayers answered. Meeting Juliann was like God saying to me, “Don’t worry I’ve got this.”

Amanda (left) with World Orphans intern and Journey 117 alumni, Callie Himsl

In this same group I met Callie. Callie and I connected because we shared the same heart for the world, orphans and serving in less developed countries. She introduced me to Journey 117 as she has just returned from a trip to Haiti with them. (She recently left again, for 6 months, to Haiti to serve the orphans and teach art classes!) I’ve always dreamed of traveling the world, but never knew what the purpose behind this desire was. Once I met Callie and learned more about Journey 117, the purpose behind my longing to travel was fully revealed. For a year after meeting her, I have gone around in circles in my head about applying for a mission trip. Finally, through a lot of prayer and encouragement from others, God told me that now was the time. I went for it and now I am happy to be on an awesome team going to Haiti in October.

It is truly amazing how God aligns certain circumstances in each of our lives and reveals his purpose in the desires of our heart. I feel so blessed and thankful for this life changing opportunity!

Amanda resides in California and will be serving with Journey 117 in October on Team Haiti.

 

One Response to “Aligning Paths for Service in Haiti”

  1. Callie Himsl October 3, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    I am so unbelievebly stoked for you my love! God is going to do amazing things through you! I love that you have taken this risk and I am so excited to see you soon. I know that your heart for Missions and showing love and care to others is going to do great things for His Kingdom. I love you,and Jesus loves you more!

Leave a Reply

